‘Here I Am Send Me’—Darlene Zschech [Review + Giveaway]

“Here I am Send Me” is the brand new worship record by Darlene Zschech, one of the most well-known worship leaders and songwriters of our times.

Similar to the fabulous “Revealing Jesus” that was released in 2013, “Here I am Send Me” is also full of co-written songs with folks like Martin Smith, Paul Baloche, Jenn Johnson and Leeland Mooring among others joining in.

The project features 11 brand new worship songs recorded live at Hope Unlimited Church, New South Wales, Australia. According to Darlene, she believes these songs declare God’s greatness apart from offering a message of hope—something she must no doubt be living out considering she was diagnosed with cancer not too long ago.

Track List of “Here I am Send Me”

  1. You Are Great – Darlene Zschech, Martin Smith
  2. You Will Be Praised – Darlene Zschech, Paul Baloche, Jenn Johnson
  3. Daylight – Darlene Zschech, Beth Gleeson
  4. Kingdom Come – Darlene Zschech, Thomas Macken
  5. First Love – Luke Taylor, Sarah Potts
  6. Love And Wonder – Zoe Zschech, Bonnie Gray
  7. Your Eyes – Darlene Zschech, Andy Macken, Thomas Macken
  8. Emmanuel – Darlene Zschech, Andy Macken
  9. Beloved (When I Survey) – Darlene Zschech, Leeland Mooring, Casey Moore
  10. Here I Am Send Me – Darlene Zschech, Andy Macken
  11. Go – Darlene Zschech, Andy Macken

About the Songs

Musically, it’s vintage Darlene. If you enjoyed “Revealing Jesus”, this record should be right up your alley.

“You Are Great”—an anthemic mid-tempo song kicks off the project and gets into business right away with singalongable melodies coupled with a soaring bridge.

“You Will be Praised”, a strong declaration to praise God in any season follows. With Paul Baloche and Jenn Johnson co-writing, nothing much can go wrong with a song I guess. And the worship leader in Darlene really comes to the fore on this one ensuring the delivery is beautiful too!

You have been my portion
You are my hiding place
When this earthly fight is over
Only Heaven’s joy remains

The mellower “Kingdom Come” is followed by the up-tempo “First Love”. Loved the bass work on the latter.

There are more slow song goodies with “Your Eyes”, “Emmanuel” and a short filler, “Love and Wonder”.

Then there is a sweet version of “Beloved (When I Survey)” with Leeland Mooring and Casey Moore—a smashing song—and for me, the best of this record! A lovely lyric based on beholding Christ and committing to pursue Him. The middle section with verses from the classic hymn “When I Survey” turns out to be a superb idea. Add to this the ending with spontaneous worship and this song is a must have!

The title track “Here I Am Send Me” is another home run. Probably the most passionate song to the Holy Spirit I’ve listened to in a long time. It brilliantly invokes a much needed missional zeal. Expect this one to be playing on repeat mode for some time to come!

Check out the lyric video, you’ll love this song:

Another missional song, “Go” closes out the album continuing the good work from the title track.

While lyrically this album didn’t satisfy me as much as “Revealing Jesus”, all in all, “Here I am Send Me” is a classy project from a veteran worship artist that’s probably going to resonate in church set-lists all over the world.

My Favorite Songs

  • Beloved (When I Survey)
  • Here I am Send Me
  • You Will be Praised
  • You Are Great
  • Kingdom Come

And now, on to the giveaway!

What’s your favorite Darlene Zschech song? Leave a comment and let us know for a chance to win a free digital download of “Here I am Send Me” by Darlene Zschech.

There will be 2 winners.

Disclaimer: I received this album for free from Integrity Music to listen and post this review. The views expressed here are completely my own and I am not obliged to write a positive review.